“Reusing” food

So one of my passions is food. I love to cook and I am quite keen on cooking as well. Snaga , a company that takes care of disposals in Ljubljana  where I live invited me to a dinner. Well, to be honest I was invited to an event, I had no idea what it’s gonna be. So I turned up at As Aperitivo ( where I haven’t been in last half past year, need to go there more often, they have nice food) and there was a big dining table with some press and some social media people. No one had any clue what to expect but they soon explained to us that we’re having a dinner. Hmm, dinner sounds good, right. In front of us there were cards with sayings about food and shopping which were a little conversation starters and ice breakers. And then the dinner came. Or to be exact there was Vanja Fon, a young aspiring chef who told us a little bit about the menu. He looked really young but I just found out he is 27. Whoops.

So we ate and talked.

1. rostbif s poširanim jajcem

First course was roast beef  with poached egg. (and rocket, parmesan and olive oil). We were served Malvasia (2011) as well.

3. grahova juha in pečena šunka

Second course was creamy pea soup with ham.

2. krvava solatkaThird course was a bloody salad. (greens, fennel, orange, pines, mint and onion with red beet sauce)

4. gratinirana paštica

Fourth course was gratined sicilian style pasta. Little brown things on top are actually fried aubergine skins.

5. goveji burgerFifth ( I probably mixed up the order of courses or miscounted some. Whoops) was a pulled beef burger with yoghurt sauce. It came with Rubino (2011).

6. hrustljava sladica

Last but not least was a crunchy desert with peach and vanilla ice cream and sweet Pinot Blanc (2008) .

So, another dinner. Except there is a catch. Every course featured at least one “leftover” food. At first one the roast beef was prepared a day before. Also the ham in the soup. Beetroot juice would be thrown away but here it was featured in salad dressing. Pasta was made one day before. Eggplant skin would be thrown away. Beef was used to cook stock and would not come to the plate otherwise. I might forgot what was with peach in the dessert but my brain was preoccupied with all mmmm-ing and yummmmm-ing.

So what was a whole point of it? Well, on average every citizen of Slovenia yearly disposes about 80kg of food. It is a whole grown person weight of food. Per one person. And we all know all food that is in those bins is not to be thrown away but since is more comfortable it ends there. And it is too much indeed. So Snaga is running a little campaign to raise a voice about the issue of food that gets thrown away while still useful. And at that the whole buying-preparing-eating- refrigeration process.

What can we do to make less good food go to waste? (I have been thinking and this is my idea)

1. Shop what you use. I know how it feels to take a bit more since someone might come around or you’re really gonna cook only at home this week or you might get really hungry but when you go shopping, make a list, think about what you are gonna cook and eat all week and don’t lie to yourself if you know that you are too lazy too cook when you come home so you rather just eat out. You’ll save some money that would be thrown away as well.

2. Get innovative with cooking. I mean, have you seen that aubergine skin? It was really delicious. And stale bread can become nice croutons ( make nice pieces or tear it up, some salt, some dried or fresh herbs ( my favourite is rosemary) a drizzle of olive oil and low heat baking until nice golden and dried up). Lemon skin after juicing can be a used in a simmering potpuri. Put it in a pot with water, some other nice smelling things and simmer. Here is another example.

3. Eat clean.  I am not talking about washing your food, we all know how it goes. And I am not gonna lecture you on diets, I am the last person to feel obliged to. But eat non-processed food. It is good for you, it is cheaper, it is fun to prepare and it is good for environment. I mean, making ratatouille or making a tinplate-throw it in an oven and bake it-food. It takes approximately same time after you learn some cooking tricks.

4. Refrigerate. I know some people who cook for few days in one go since they don’t have time to cook later in week. Not saying that is the way to do it, I like fresh cooked food and always try to find time to prepare it, but food is good after you eat it once. Some stews are even better after you heat them up for few times.

So I hope I inspired you to throw away just a little less food. If that means one person will throw away a kilo or so less food my mission here is accomplished.

Thank you Nina, Tamara and Manca for the nice evening and hoping to see you all soon.

xoxo,
Tina

Disclaimer : I was not paid to write this, it is not an ad for anything. All photos are owned by Snaga.

Leave a Reply

